Logo for: TheDream.us


Country of Origin: Mexico

Age of Arrival: 3 years old

Hometown: Boardman, Oregon

Degree: Computer Science


I am a first generation college student and the second to graduate from high school. Last spring, I graduated from high school and from an associate’s degree program. The persistence I learned from my parents and my school counselor allowed me to achieve my goal of finishing community college while attending high school.


My counselor told me about TheDream.US without which I would not be able to afford Western Oregon University. My goal for this next chapter in life is to build connections and relationships with people that will be great friends in the future. Most importantly, I want to obtain a degree and make my mother proud. To anyone considering applying for TheDream.Us, I would encourage them to do so, and I would tell them that anything is possible. Just keep gripping onto your dreams and never let go!


With my education, I want to build connections with business and political leaders, so one day I can start my own competitive business. I am very grateful for the opportunities TheDream.US has given me, although the fear of being an undocumented citizen still gives me a great deal of anxiety. If I were to lose my status, I would no longer have access to a life sustaining job. Given my state of current uncertainty, it is extremely important that I graduate college. I don’t want to live a life full obstacles working in the fields. My parents envisioned a great future for us, and I plan on making that a reality. I know that I will take my education and make a difference in America. I am a determined and hardworking individual who is willing to fight and die for what I love: my friends, my family, and the United States, my home.


When I was three years old, my mom, dad, sister and I immigrated to Oregon. My mom and dad had to leave their families in Mexico in the hopes of building something better for us, their children. They grew up extremely poor, and unwilling to commit us to a similar life, they decided to come to the United States. Both of my parents are undocumented, and my sister and I have been blessed with DACA. My youngest sister was born in the United States. Both of my parents are employed as labor workers, cleaning fields.


Throughout my childhood, it is difficult seeing my parents wake up at 3 in the morning every single day to go to work. But, it really broke my heart, to see my parents scorned for not being able to speak English. Despite the hardships for my family, I still consider America to be my home.